♦ English ♦ 日本語 ♦ 繁體中文 ♦ 简体中文 ♦ Home
Our Gratitude and Blessings
     Lee and Li's 50th Anniversary
    —Doing Well by Doing Good 
    Dear Colleagues and Friends:
      As 2014 draws to a close, we look back on the year and all the previous years. We see how Lee and Li has steadily evolved and grown because of everyone's commitment. This ceaseless cycle of growth is exactly how the firm propels itself forward.
      The birth of Lee and Li can be traced to Shanghai, when 50 years ago, Mr. James Lee and Dr. C. N. Li decided to start their own practice. The two founders were among the pioneers who introduced market mechanism to the Republic of China. Dr. Li was originally the Director General of the Department of Commerce of the Ministry of Economic Affairs. After leaving the government appointment, he was able to see the policies he helped to shape from the perspective of the private sector, and not a policymaker.
      Since its inception, Lee and Li has gradually risen to become the premier law firm in the Chinese-speaking world. We have witnessed every reform of the financial laws and regulations of the Republic of China. It is no exaggeration to say the history of Lee and Li can be read as a condensed chronicle of Taiwan's legal system.
      After Mr. James Lee passed away in 1970, with an eye toward sustainable operations, Dr. C. N. Li renamed the firm Lee and Li, Attorneys-at-Law. The firm had around 30 employees at that time and focused mostly on transnational legal matters and intellectual property right issues. Standing on the foundation laid by our predecessors, today, with more than 700 employees, Lee and Li is the largest law firm in Taiwan. Our core values are "We Care, We Serve, and We Excel." We bring together skilled professionals, encourage experience-sharing, prize innovation, and value team work, which we believe are the key to our continuing success.
      Our professionalism and achievements have long been recognized and relied on by our clients in Taiwan and abroad, many of whom have been with us for decades. We treasure the renown we enjoy among local and international clients for the quality of our work and have won the best law firm honor many times. And we have time and again been named Pro Bono Firm for our dedication to the public interest.
      To provide transnational legal services, Lee and Li has forged long-term ties with preeminent law firms in America, Europe, Asia and Africa. Reacting to our clients' needs for legal services in the Greater China region, in 2003, we formed a strategic alliance with Lee and Li-Leaven IPR Agency Ltd. in Beijing and L&L-Leaven, Attorneys-at-Law in Shanghai. Furthermore, realizing the importance of legal education on both sides of the Taiwan Strait, Lee and Li has worked assiduously to promote it. Besides lecturing in Taiwan, our colleagues are regularly invited to lecture on financial legal issues and business management at universities such as Peking University and Tsinghua University. The Lee and Li Foundation, which was created with donations from Lee and Li, has been actively involved in the advancement of legal education since its inception in 1999, including founding the Lee and Li Classroom and the Lee and Li Collegiate Moot Court Competition in Taiwan and China, and establishing the Lee and Li Foundation Fund for the Public Interest at Harvard Law School. Our commitment to professional services, public interest, and cross-strait academic exchange has been lauded by the public.
      Lee and Li has been able to thrive owing to Taiwan's phenomenal economic ascent. Therefore, it is also committed to various public interest causes in Taiwan. Our unwavering dedication to pro bono services is motivated by passion and compassion. Social responsibility and long-term commitment to society are integral to Lee and Li's culture.
      In the last 50 years, again and again we surmounted challenges and endured tribulations to emerge revitalized. As we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the firm, we would like to express our profound gratitude for the trust and support from our clients and society. The persistent pursuit of excellence by our current and former colleagues is also the reason Lee and Li is able to turn a robust 50.
      What is Lee and Li's vision for the future? We would like to encourage our colleagues to contemplate this question as we head into the next 50 years and beyond. Are we just an assemblage of successful lawyers, patent attorneys, engineers and accountants? Clearly, aside from providing legal services, there must be more important values and vision binding us together to sustain us through any storm.
      So what is Lee and Li's vision? While pondering this, we would like to share what we at Lee and Li expect of ourselves, which should coincide with our clients' expectations: "Let not our profession be our master, but let us be the master of our profession. Our lives should not be spent exploiting our professional skills to pursue fame or fortune; it should be spent on a constant dialogue with our conscience." The paths to self-fulfillment are infinite, but let us choose a path that allows application of our services toward the common good of humankind as well as self-realization.
      At Lee and Li, provision of professional services is not just an occupation; it is a calling. "Doing Well by Doing Good" is the overarching vision that sustains us as we head toward our 50th anniversary and beyond. It is also why we have congregated here. May we all strive to realize this vision!
     
 
C. V. Chen Nigel N. T. Li
Chairman and Senior Partner Partner / CEO
[About Us: http://www.leeandli.com/en/000000001.htm ]
© Lee and Li, Attorneys-at-Law, All rights reserved.

♦ English ♦ 日本語 ♦ 繁體中文 ♦ 简体中文 ♦ 首頁
感恩與祝福
     理律五十,為善者成 
    各位親愛的理律同仁與客戶朋友們:
      我們攜手努力的2014年將劃上句點,這一年來、這每年來,在我們的共同努力之下,理律始終不停地在蛻變、茁壯;不斷地前進、前進、再前進。
      50年前,李澤民律師與李潮年律師合夥開設事務所。這兩位從1940年代就在上海執業的理律創始人,也可說是中華民國引進市場機制的先驅之一。李潮年博士本是經濟部商業司長,離開公職後服務民間,從制度的規劃者變成實踐者。
      從那時開始,理律逐漸成為華人世界首屈一指的法律事務所,見證了中華民國在財經法制上的每一項變革,也可以這麼說,理律的歷史,就是一部微型的台灣法治發展史。
      李澤民律師於1970年辭世後,李潮年律師為事務所之永續經營,將事務所定名為「理律」。當時全所員工人數約三十餘人,持續承辦跨國法律事務及智慧財產權等業務。在前人所奠定的基礎上,理律發展至今,成為台灣規模最大的法律事務所,全所員工已有700多人。理律以關懷(Care)、服務(Serve)及卓越(Excel)為核心價值,並廣納優秀人才、重視經驗傳承、強調專業創新、發揮團隊分工與合作,以確保永續經營為目標。
      理律的專業及優異表現受到國內外客戶信賴與肯認,更有不少客戶與理律建立數十年之合作情誼。理律專業服務品質受到國內外客戶高度肯定,在國際優良法律/智慧財產權事務所甄選活動中,不但經常獲選為『最佳法律事務所』,更獲頒『公益法律事務所』獎 (Pro Bono Award)。
      為提供跨國企業所需服務,理律多年來與美洲、歐洲、亞洲及非洲等地區的高品質法律事務所建立了長期合作關係。理律同仁亦深切體認提供客戶所需大中華地區法律服務之必要性,自2003年起分別與北京律盟知識產權代理有限責任公司及上海律同衡律師事務所建立緊密的策略聯盟合作平台。除法律服務外,理律同仁深刻體會推動兩岸法治教育的重要性,長期以來,理律同仁不僅在台灣從事法律教育工作,也陸續受邀至北京大學、清華大學等校講授「財經法律與企業經營」課程。而理律捐助成立並將永續贊助的理律文教基金會自1999年成立以來,積極推動法治教育,包括「理律學堂」、在兩岸舉辦「理律盃模擬法庭競賽」、哈佛法學院設立「公益法律研究計畫」等活動;理律在專業、公益及兩岸法治教育之努力,廣受各界肯定。
      隨著台灣經濟成長而發展,除了竭力提供客戶法律服務,理律在台灣亦積極推動社會公益活動,表達關懷社會、服務人群的熱情。理律重視社會責任,長期為關懷社會所付諸行動及承諾,已成為理律文化不可或缺的一環。
      50年成長的歷程中,理律經歷了無數的挑戰,也克服了許多的考驗,在這個慶祝50週年的時刻,理律同仁衷心地感謝客戶及社會各界給予的信任及支持。理律每位過去及在職的同仁所付出的努力,也是理律得以順利成長茁壯的重要動力。
      理律的願景是什麼?這是邁入下一個50年以至永遠,理律同仁要自問的問題。理律單純只是一群「成功」律師、專利師、工程師、會計師等的組合?顯然,在法律等專業服務之外,我們還有更重要的核心價值及願景,讓理律儘管也曾經歷風雨飄搖,但始終能夠心手相繫、共同驕傲!
      理律的願景是什麼?在這個問題之下,我們想和同仁分享一份應該是理律同仁共同的期待心情,也應該是理律的客戶對理律的期待。那就是:「人生最寶貴的過程,絕不在於聽任我們的專業,去追求世俗的財富功名而已,而在於與自己的良知對話,惕勵它、昇華它」。這個社會讓我們有無數種可能的方式去實踐自我,但,讓我們選擇善用我們的專業服務,不僅實踐自我,而且實踐社會共同善的人生模式。
      理律的專業服務不僅是理律同仁的「職業」,更是我們的「志業」。『為善者成』(Doing Well by Doing Good),這是理律邁向50週年至到永遠,我們應該堅持的願景,也是每一位理律人之所以齊聚在這裡的原因,讓我們共勉之!
     
 
所長暨執行合夥人 執行長
[ 關於理律: http://www.leeandli.com/TW/000000001.htm ]
© Lee and Li, Attorneys-at-Law, All rights reserved.